Scottish Amateur Football Association

News Detail » SAFA Scottish Select 2 Central Scottish AFL 0

Sunday 27th October 2013 @ Indoor Ravencraig Complex.


Challenge Match


SAFA Scottish Select 2 Central Scottish AFL 0


David McKay - 20th

Michael Mullen – 57th


Given the inclement weather there was a collective sigh of relief when the match was switched to indoors at Ravencraig and we must thank all the players for their cooperation on the matter.


As for the game the Scottish team took an early control with McKay and Mullen proving to hot to handle and leaving Jordan Longmuir with a busy time in the Central goal.


Jordans save from a wicked shot from Gary Dickson was particularly impressive but he was given no chance in the 20th minute. Following a smart move the pace of David McKay would tell as he weaved his way into position before hammering the ball into the net.


Then in the 25th minute a blow for the Association when McKay took a knock and had to be replaced by Brian Hughes. Central would take some control but they were somewhat goal-shy with a ball off the cross-bar their only notable attempt at goal in a disappointing first half.


The second period the game developed into a midfield battle but the result was secured for the home team (Scottish) just before the hour mark. Breaking with intent Mullen was brought down just short of the 18-yards box and from the resultant free-kick he picked himself up to hammer through the wall and low past the keepers best effort.


The game petered out after this, leaving both management teams to contemplate the afternoon’s entertainment.



Derek Moore (Glasgow University AFC)
Lance Pearce (Colville Park AFC)
Alistair McCabe (Haldane United AFC)
Colin McLeod (Bannockburn AFC)
Andrew Black (Westerlands AFC)
David Donaldson (Bannockburn AFC)
Niel McLure (Glasgow Harp)
Steven McDevitt (Wellhouse AFC)
David McKay (Colville Park AFC)
Michael Mullen (Hurlford Thistle AFC)
Gary Dickson (Giffnock North AFC)
Gary Gaitens (Wellhouse AFC)
Alan Diack (Arthurlie United AFC)
Ewan McCrae (Harestanes AFC)
Thomas Donovan (Clark Drive AFC)
Brian Hughes (Postal United AFC)
Scott Urquart (Drumchapel Colts AFC)



Jordan Longmuir (Colville Park AFC)
Thomas Airlie (Colville Park AFC)
Stuart McClune (Harestanes AFC)
Ross Campbell (Harestanes AFC)
Ryan Watt (Arthurile United)
Kevin Cawley (Harestanes AFC)
Paul McAuley (Colville Park AFC)
Paul Crumley (Blantyre Celtic AFC)
Ryan Hynes (Drumchapel AFC)
Kevin McDonnell (Harestanes AFC)
Martin Clark (Drumchapel AFC)
David Tait (Campsie Minerva AFC)
Shaun Murphy (Wishaw HSFP AFC)
Greg Hutton (Campsie Minerva AFC)
John H. Proctor (Harestanes AFC)
Alan Patrick (Harestanes AFC)
Michael McGoldrick (Eastfield AFC)


Match Officials – Paul O’Neill, Michael & Finlay McDermott


Match Report and Photos by John Rodgers (SAFA Publicist)

« Back