Scottish Amateur Football Association

News Detail » Jack Britton Rosebowl 2017 Winners - Scottish Amateur FA Select

Jack Britton Rosebowl 2017 Winners - Scottish Amateur FA Select

 Jack Britton Rosebowl 2017


Scottish Amateur FA Select 4

Northern AFL 1


(Saturday 13th May 2017 - Lesser Hampden)




After three years of disappointment the Scottish Amateur FA and Bruce McNaught have the Jack Britton Rosebowl back in their possession.


In a sparking display of attacking football they overwhelmed the Northern AFL at Lesser Hampden on Saturday. It would be Shaun Martin (Craigshill Thistle AFC) who opened the scoring with a neat header that seemed to settle the Scottish team. However, as the first half progressed the visitors eventually looked the part and minutes before the break Joe McNeill (Crumlin Star) got forward with intent to draw the game level.


After all their effort this was a blow to the home side but they recovered their composure when Andrew McGown (Bannockburn AFC) picked a pass up on the edge of the 18-yard box before steading himself to fire past the efforts of Shane Harrison (Rathfriland Rangers) in the Irish goal.


After that the Scottish lads made and scorned several chances before they were rewarded late in the game. Sami Mitchell (Bowhill Rovers) would get in the clear once again but this time he found the spot with a wonderful curing shot into the back post, then within minutes Sean Heaver (Doune Castle AFC) made it four with a determined run and smart finish.


Scenes of joy and relief followed well into the reception at Hampden Park. At the reception the players from both sides were presented with a medal to mark the occasion while the Scottish players also picked up their well-deserved International Caps.


The match officials and management teams were also were a presented with suitable mementoes of the occasion.


Then another highlight of the evening when the “Bob Lamberton” Man of the Match was awarded to Toni Jaconelli (Craigshill Thistle). It added to the occasion that Bob was in attendance to hand over the Quaich. The Scottish Captain Andrew McGown was also spurred on to make a speech which he delivered in style as he thanked everyone for their efforts and how proud he was of his teammates on the day.



Scott Miller (Tollcross Thistle AFC)

David Tait (Bannockburn AFC)

Harry Bruce (Bannockburn AFC)

Scott Methven (Leven United AFC)

Tony Jaconelli (Craigshill Thistle AFC)

Andy McGown (Bannockburn AFC)

Allan McCrum (Larkhall Thistle AFC)

Shaun Martin (Craigshill Thistle AFC)

Kenny McLellan (Bannockburn AFC)

Nicky Moore (Larkhall Thistle AFC)

Niall McClure (Doune Castle AFC)

Sean Heaver (Doune Castle AFC)


Subs all played

Stuart Wilson (Gartcosh United AFC)

Andrew Duffy (Hamilton FP AFC)

Kieran Brannan (Larkhall Thistle AFC)

Daniel Finnegan (St Patricks FPs AFC)

Sami Mitchell (Bowhill Rovers AFC)


SAFA Scotland National Select v Northern Ireland, 13th May 2017 (Film my Match)


Password for this footage is: usJL3u9


All files can be downloaded in either standard or high definition by clicking on the most relevant option for you. Sharing the footage with your team, family and friends is easy - just forward the link and share the password. Footage can be viewed on PC/Mac, or mobile devices such as tablets and smartphones.


Please keep in mind, after One Month, the links to these files will be removed. Downloading the links to the footage and in turn downloading the files themselves will be the best way of keeping these games. The footage will be archived but to re-upload the games after this one one month period will incur a £10 charge.


« Back