Scottish Amateur Football Association

News Detail » Murray Mackay Awarded Life Membership to the SAFA

Congratulates to Murray Mackay, who has been awarded Life Membership by the Scottish Amateur Football Association.



Murray stood down from his post this year having been involved in football in Caithness for over 50 years.


Murray was also Chairman of the Highland Executive Committee which is responsible for the running of the S.A.F.A's Highland Amateur Cup competition.
Indeed the team he managed, Thurso Pentland, dominated the early years of the competition, winning it in 1980, 1981 & 1983 as well as runners up in 1978 & 1982.



As a player Murray won County League honours as Thurso Academicals goalkeeper in their 1963, 1964,1967 & 1969 County League titles.
Murray also managed our Caithness County Select teams in their matches versus Orkney, Sutherland & Ross-shire County Selects.




The Scottish Amateur FA President Charles R Gallacher, National Secretary Thomas McKeown, Hon Treasurer George Dingwall, Life Member Bob Lamberton traveled north from Hampden Park on Monday 1st December to present Murray with his award while hosting a dinner for him & wife Mairi in the Pentland Hotel, Thurso.



Caithness A.F.A also made a presentation to Murray after the meal and was represented by current President Murray Coghill & Registration Secretary Andrew Lannon, along with Highland Executive Match Secretary Angus Mackay.



« Back