Scottish Amateur Football Association

News Detail » SAFA Select A v SAFA Select B




SAFA Select “A” 3 . SAFA Select “B” 1.


@ Colville Park, Motherwell on Sunday 23rd March 2014 (Kick Off 1.00pm)



Some clever neat play and bright individual performances but there was never an edge to the game. After the B Team got over the disappointment of losing an early goal against the run of play they remained the more impressive unit in the first half.


In the 5th minute Paul McLaughlan took full advantage as the ball bounce around the area. The B Team responded in style and the A Teams man for man defending was exposed when Ross Fletcher fired home.


John Nisbet did well to keep his side in contention up to the break with fine saves from McCluskey and Fletcher but the balance of power switched in the second period.


The B Team were pinned back for much of the half with no relief as a couple of defenders were taken of as a precaution due to slight knocks. Not that the B Team were devoid of action when a quick break left the ball being cleared off the line with replacement keeper McGivery stranded.


Into the last 15 minutes the A Team finally got the desired breakthrough with a neat finish by Alan Inglis. The B Team then rode their luck for the remainder of the game and perhaps should have been awarded a penalty kick before Kenneth Feaks struck the ball home in the 89th minute. The goal stood even though it looked like the substitute keeper David Tait dropped the ball after what looked like being barged into.



SAFA Select A



1. John Nisbet (Tollcross Thistle AFC)
2. Andy Graham (Campsie Minerva AFC)
3. Kenny Feaks (Doune Castle AFC)
4. Colin MacLeod (Bannockburn AFC)
5. Gary Gaitens (Wellhouse AFC)
6. Sean Lothian (Lochend AFC)
7. Gary Currie (Bannockburn AFC)
8. Steven McDevitt (Wellhouse AFC)
9. Alan Inglis (Doune Castle AFC)
10. Paul McLaughlan (Campsie Minerva AFC)
11. Kevin Fotheringham (Bannockburn AFC)
12. Michael Brown (Colville Park AFC)
14. Robbie Peebles (Wellhouse AFC)
15. Niall McClure (Glasgow Harp AFC)
16. Gary Dickson (Giffnock North AFC)
17. Michael Mullen (Hurlford Thistle AFC)


Sub: (GK) Andy McGilvary (Dumbarton Academy AFC)



SAFA Select B



1. Scott Urquhart (Drumchapel Colts AFC)

2. Lance Pearce (Colville Park AFC)

3. Sean Summers (Blantyre Celtic AFC)

4. Mark McCormack (Bowhill Rovers AFC)

5. Ally McCabe (Haldane United AFC)

6. Martin Byrne (Ferguslie Star AFC)

7. John Neil (Overtown Thistle AFC)

8. Martyn Sheilds (Eastfield AFC)

9. Thomas McCluskey (Blochairn Star “B” AFC)

10. Ross Fletcher (Blantyre Celtic AFC)

11. David Donaldson (Bannockburn AFC)

12. Andy McLay (Glasgow Harp AFC)

15. Danny O’Neil (Eastfield AFC)

16. Michael Kerr (Postal United AFC)


Sub: (GK) David Tait (Campsie Minerva AFC)


Match Report by John Rodgers (SAFA International Publicist)

« Back